by Meadow Sandy, staff writer

Pictured is a photo that was given to Goodwin by her students after finishing student teaching. Students signed their names and wrote notes to wish Goodwin luck. Photo provided by Abigayle Goodwin.

JANUARY 2023 — Abigayle Goodwin, Bio-Med Science Academy’s seventh through 12th-grade art teacher, began her first year teaching in August 2022.

Majoring in Art Education, Goodwin attended Kent State University and graduated May 2022. She was also a part of Kent State’s Charter of Ohio Art Education Association (OAEA).

OAEA is an organization for Visual Art Educators in Ohio.

“We met every couple weeks and did art projects and lesson planning together. It was a great way to bond, connect with other art teachers, and get fresh ideas,” Goodwin explained.

While in college, Goodwin worked at Old Navy for three years and at Home Depot for her senior year. Goodwin mixed paints at Home Depot and continued working there throughout student teaching at Nordonia High School.

Goodwins’ schedule consisted of 40-hour weeks of student teaching, homework, and working.

Pictured above is a commission Goodwin did for her friends’ wedding. “I did a commission for my best friends’ wedding as a gift, because I paid so much money for art school, and I gave them the gift of my talent.” Photo provided by Abigayle Goodwin.

“Student teaching was taxing, but the bonds I had with my students there were special. I saw them every day for 14 weeks. We all cried on my last day,” recalled Goodwin.

After Goodwin graduated, she didn’t expect to start teaching right away. She found out about a job opening at Bio-Med through a connection at Home Depot.

“In high school, I always wanted to be an art teacher. When I was in high school, I loved my art teacher. I spent so much time in his room, because I was good at art.” She continued, “It was an environment that I felt comfortable in.”

Though many of Goodwin’s peers discouraged her career choice, she recalled how supportive her art teacher was.

“He told me that there are so many careers in art; if you want to be an art teacher, just do it. A lot of people go to college and change their major a couple of times, but I went in knowing that I wanted to be an art teacher,” she said.

“It’s a different environment [at Bio-Med,] and I miss having students every day, like having my own classes. But when I do get to integrate with classes, students are pretty welcoming,” added Goodwin.

Goodwins’ home life consists of her spending time with her cat, painting, and reading. In her free time, Goodwin does commissions for her art pieces.

When Goodwin was growing up, she moved around frequently. She started in the Pittsburgh area and ended in West Virginia. The frequent moves were due to her dad being in the military. Goodwin has two siblings, an 18-year-old sister and a 14-year-old brother. Photo provided by Goodwin.

Leave a comment